Angry Bird Cake #1

I try to stay away from character-inspired cakes for children’s birthdays for two reasons: #1 – I prefer something more timeless and #2 – they can be hard. So when both of my older son’s begged for Angry Bird cakes for their respective birthdays, I gave in and said that I would do my best.

This first cake I made this spring for my son’s 5th birthday. It turned out to be easy and quick, which are two words that are not normally associated with my cakes. We already owned an Angry Bird game, so it was just a matter of making a set for it. I just baked a cake mix (adapting it for the pound cake version) in loaf pans and shaped them to make a hill of sorts.

Instead of using the plastic pieces for the wood, I used Nutty Bars. I decided not to use any frosting to hold them together, since I wanted the birthday boy to actually play the game. As it turned out, it was nearly impossible the bars to be toppled by the launched plastic pieces. They only fell with a little help from my husband, eager to get on with the cake and ice cream serving!

In my next post, I’ll share the second and last Angry Bird cake of 2012, which involved many more hours and dishes.

Leave a Reply

