I want to be a costume designer

That was one of the many responses I would have when folks would ask the “what do you want to be when you grow up” question.

My first response was always a mother. Here’s the proof, from the picture drawn in second grade.

I collect Mother and Child artwork. This is framed on the wall as the centerpiece of my collection.

My second response was always a teacher. Having college-aged siblings gave me the insight that I would need to have something in mind to actually study. I also wanted to be an artist or an entertainer. And if pressed further, I would say a costume designer.

I loved clothes and color and dress-up. In my early high school years, I would study the college brochures that listed fashion design as a major. The problem was that I was intent on attending Valparaiso University, which didn’t have that option. So by junior year, my focus went back to elementary education, for which I am incredibly thankful.

Feathers for a bird costume

As it turns out, I’ve become all those things I aspired to be. I was, and still am, a teacher. My current students are only the four that turn up for Mama-school each day (classes run before and after their public school hours). I am an artist, using photography as my medium most days. And every teacher and parent needs to be an entertainer at one point or another.

I’m sure that we’ll only see a couple dozen Dorothys when we’re trick or treating.

And with Halloween around the corner, I’m a costume designer as well.

I am truly blessed.

2 Comments on “I want to be a costume designer

  1. Such a sweet post, Gretchen! I wish I could even remember what I wanted to be when I grew up… 🙂 I love all the kid’s costumes this year; I was proud of Charlie’s tornado costume until I saw all your darlings…. ha! He loves it, though, and did I mention it should glow in the dark?!

    • Thanks, Judy! I can’t wait to see the tornado – I’m impressed already. I just hope he doesn’t try to run over Dorothy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

