Get in the Picture: Mother and Child Art

After I gave birth to my firstborn, I was suddenly captivated by artwork featuring mothers and babies. So much so, that I began a collection of prints, original artwork, and statues. The problem with starting a collection is that you never know when you’ve completed it, so I just kept adding to the box. Eight years later, I decided that art was meant to be seen, not filed away – so I began to hang some of it.Gigi's Joy: Mother Child Art Wall

The wall was far from complete, (and the artwork crooked, apparently) but  I liked the shape, so I left it as is. (Planning to finish another day.) This picture was taken a year or two later, right before I took the art down to pack for the move. But since the day I put it up, it brought me great joy every time I looked at it.

Gigi's Joy: Mother & Child Art Wall

And because I love a good explanation key, here it is:

1. My own artwork from second grade – the assignment was “what I want to be when I grow up”

2. Christmas card – Mary and Baby Jesus

3. “When these fresh and magical spirits arrive in our lives they create entire new beings out of us” By artist Aimee Dolich of Artsyville

4. Me, pregnant with my youngest *

5. “It is not a slight thing when they, who are so fresh from God, love us.” quote by Charles Dickens, illustrated by Mary Englebreit

6. Original student artwork, bought at an auction: artist unknown

7. Mother, baby, and the moon, by Kris Aro Mcleod

8. Bedtime Story, by Rebecca Evans

9. My baby plate. Because it was the only thing that I had to fit the spot that was left over.

*************************************************************

In our new house, I hope to have a completed Mother and Child Art wall with photographs of my children and their mama mixed in. I’m certainly not going to wait 8 years for the next installation. The snapshots below are not necessarily the ones that I’m going to hang, but if this was all I had – I would certainly do it. The point is not to wait until you have the “perfect” pictures – the point is to celebrate the people and the relationship now. These children have brought me far greater joy than any piece of artwork ever could…. and I want to be sure that images of these little human masterpieces are mixed in right from the beginning.

Gigi's Joy: mother and child collage

Please pay a visit to the always fabulous Robin Spalding of Robin Spalding Photography, and see how she got in the picture this month.

*(EDITED TO ADD: my husband, Jeff Hansen, has requested photo credit on this image. Yes, technically he DID press the shutter. Hmmph.)

9 Comments on “Get in the Picture: Mother and Child Art

  1. awww i love that u have a drawing from when u were a kid saying u were going to be a mom that is awesome! and the pics of u and your kids are sooo full of love and beautiful! i hope do mix those ones up on your mother theme wall!

  2. Pingback: Mamas and their Babies {Gigi’s Joy Photography: Union Grove newborn photographer} | Gigi's Joy Photography Union Grove Racine Kenosha Burlington baby child lifestyle family photographer

  3. Pingback: Mother and Child Portraits {Gigi’s Joy Photography: Union Grove Family Photographer} | Gigi's Joy Photography Union Grove Racine Kenosha Burlington baby child lifestyle family photographer

  4. Pingback: Some favorite Father-Child Images {Gigi’s Joy Photography: Union Grove Children Photographer} | Gigi's Joy Photography Union Grove Racine Kenosha Burlington baby child lifestyle family photographer

  5. Pingback: Mothers and their children {Gigi’s Joy Photography: Union Grove Family Photographer} | Gigi's Joy Photography Union Grove Racine Kenosha Burlington baby child lifestyle family photographer

  6. Pingback: Mother’s Day 2016 {Gigi’s Joy Photography: Racine Family Photographer} | Gigi's Joy Photography Union Grove Racine Kenosha Burlington baby child lifestyle family photographer

Leave a Reply

