Some beautiful, non-smiling children {Gigi’s Joy Photography: Racine Children’s Photographer}

Gigi's Joy Photography: Burlington Children's Photographer

The other day I asked my daughter to please put on her winter dress coat one more time (before we declared it to be spring) so that I could do a quick portrait of her. I explained – you don’t even have to smile. She did smile, because that’s her personality – but I also adored the ones where she wasn’t.

Gigi's Joy Photography: Waterford Children's Photographer

These images of my daughter made me think of some of my other favorite portraits I’ve taken. Many times, they are the non-smiling ones that leave the biggest impression on me.

Gigi's Joy Photography: Union Grove Children's Photographer

In non-smiling images, the focus goes straight to the eyes. A smile changes the shape of the face – it is a lovely change, of course. But as parents, we don’t always see our children smiling.

Gigi's Joy Photography: Burlington Children's Photographer

When your children are looking up at you, asking a question, or listening intently, they aren’t usually smiling. Their eyes are big and soulful – and I want to remember those moments, too.

Gigi's Joy Photography: Racine Children's Photographer

More and more, I’ve been trying to capture those moments for my clients as well. Some folks skip right over those images, but others see the beauty in that solemn expression. At times, it can be harder to capture a quiet moment from a child than one filled with emotion. I love the sessions where I’m able to capture both.

Gigi's Joy Photography: Waterford Children's PhotographerA smiling, joyful image makes us smile as well, but a simple, ordinary expression can make us think.

 

6 Comments on “Some beautiful, non-smiling children {Gigi’s Joy Photography: Racine Children’s Photographer}

  1. wow – i LOVE this – how you pulled out that emotion isn’t always smiling – sometimes there’s so much more than that! your images are breathtaking – my favorite is the little boy & his teddy bear!

  2. I couldn’t agree more, I love your work, stunning images and way to display how important the serious look is as well as a big smile.

  3. 100% agree here. I tend to lean towards these same types of images for kids and adults alike, I feel like it shares so much humanity and honesty. Great post

  4. I love non smiling pictures. Totally agree with you. In my kindergarten picture, I’m not smiling, very serious. I look a little ticked off even. I remember it was one if my dad’s favorite pics of me.

  5. Thank you so much, girls – I really appreciate the comments – and to know that I’m not alone in my love for these more serious expressions!

Leave a Reply

