The little sailor {Gigi’s Joy Photography: Racine Children’s Photographer}

Gigi's Joy Photography: Racine Family Photographer Union Grove

I have always been taken with images of childhood. I was a reader and loved The Secret Garden, Anne of Green Gables, Little Women, and the Little House series. In these books, you were only rewarded with an illustration every 20 or 30 pages – and I would study them. Those images became my definition of childhood – beautiful greenery, flowering trees, and open fields. I was also enamored with the round faces of Eloise Wilkins’ Golden Books illustrations, and as a teenager discovered the colorful world Mary Engelbreit. Lately, it is the artist Jessie Wilcox Smith that has my heart.

On the fall day that these images were taken, my youngest had just turned four. I’m sure that I had those illustrators in my subconscious, as I wanted to capture that feel of a classic moment in childhood.

Gigi's Joy Photography: Racine Family Photographer Union Grove

(I also managed to capture the sad face when the afternoon was over and it was time to go home for dinner.)

Gigi's Joy Photography: Kenosha Children's Fine Art Photographer Burlington

“Childhood is the most beautiful of all of life’s seasons” -Unknown

Gigi's Joy Photography: Children's Photographer Burlington

 

One Comment on “The little sailor {Gigi’s Joy Photography: Racine Children’s Photographer}

  1. Love these images! And while you may vision a book while taking these images, your images belong in a book!

Leave a Reply

